2022 Friend of the Green Award to Honor Washington Scholarship Fund

2022 Town Party graphic

Each year, on the Saturday prior to Thanksgiving, The Frederick Gunn School opens its campus to the community of Washington to celebrate the joy of the season and to present the Friend of the Green Award. Established in 2010, this award is presented annually by the school to honor an individual or group that has contributed to the well-being of the town of Washington through their volunteer efforts.

The school is pleased to announce the 2022 Friend of the Green Award will recognize the achievements and contributions of the Washington Scholarship Fund. The award will be accepted by Steven Cornell ’77 P’09 ’11 ’14, President, on behalf of the Washington Scholarship Fund at the Annual Town Holiday Party on Saturday, November 19, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. in Solley Dining Hall. All Washington residents and business owners, faculty and Frederick Gunn School families are welcome to attend.

In the spirit of giving this holiday season, guests are asked to please bring a nonperishable food item or financial contribution to support the Washington/Warren Food Bank. Advance registration is required. Please click here to register. Questions may be directed to Alli Fodor, Associate Director of Special Events, or call (860) 350-0130.

The Washington Scholarship Fund is a non-profit organization, run by a volunteer board, and has awarded $3 million in scholarships to 650 local students over the course of 50 years. Scholarships are awarded annually to seniors and graduates from Shepaug Valley High School and other secondary schools who have been residents of Washington, Washington Depot, Marbledale, and New Preston for a minimum of two years, for their college educations. The awards are given to recipients based on financial need. Prior to 2013, the Washington Scholarship Fund was operated as the Washington Citizens’ Scholarship Foundation, an affiliate of Scholarship America® and its Dollars for Scholars program. Through the Washington Citizens’ Scholarship Foundation, almost $2 million was awarded to local students.

Past recipients of the Friend of the Green Award have included: Judea Garden, accepted by Denise Arturi, Manager and Head Gardener (2021); the Town of Washington's COVID Response Team (2020); Fran and Michael Keilty (2019); Denise DeVault Trevenen (2018); Lake Waramaug Association, accepted by co-presidents Anne Block and Gail Berner (2017); the Washington Lions Club, accepted by John Quist, president (2016); Sheila Anson, Washington’s Town Clerk and Vice Chairman of the Parks and Recreation Commission (2015); the Institute of American Indian Studies (2014); JoAnne Torti of the After School Arts Program (2013); The Washington Fire Department and Washington Town Hall employees, accepted by First Selectman Mark Lyon and Fire Chief Mark Showalter (2012); Kirsten Peckerman, Steep Rock Association board member (2011), and Phil and Gretchen Farmer P’05, board members and past presidents of the Gunn Memorial Library and Museum (2010).

Additional Images